Bees Fall to the Defending Champs in First Home Run Derby of the Season

NEW BRITAIN, C.T. -- Ten innings was not enough to declare a winner in tonight’s matchup between the Bees and Bravehearts, but Worcester would end up getting the better of New Britain during the first Home Run Derby of the FCBL season.  Both teams entered the derby tied with three runs, then the Bravehearts defeated the Bees 9-8 to ultimately win the game.

The Bravehearts built up a steady lead throughout the entire game.  In the bottom of the second, Donnie Cohoon (University of Hartford) hit a single into right field and brought home Aidan Wilde (Stonehill College) for the first run of the game.  Worcester would add onto that lead with two solo home runs late in the game.  Danny Torres (Saint Leo University) went deep in the seventh inning to give the Bravehearts a 2-0 lead, and then Ben Rice (Dartmouth College) extended the lead to three in the eighth inning with his second home run of the season.

Trailing by three runs in the top of the ninth inning, the Bees began their immaculate comeback.  With no outs and two runners on base, Noah Martinez (Central CT State University) hit a single into left field which brought home both Danniel Rivera (Southern New Hampshire) and Mike Caruso (Fairfield University), cutting the Worcester lead to 3-2.  Four batters later with bases loaded, Tony Socci (Fairleigh Dickinson) reached base by an error from the Bravehearts first baseman, Aidan Wilde, which brought home the tying run.

The Bravehearts were unable to get a run in the bottom of the ninth, sending the game into extra innings for New Britain’s second time in this young season.  Neither team was able to capitalize in the tenth inning which meant there would be the first Home Run Derby of the 2020 FCBL season.

In the home run derby, each team must select three hitters and are given three minutes to hit as many home runs as possible.  The hitters do not need to be active in the lineup, and each team gets two timeouts to either switch hitters or give the current batter a rest. 

Tonight, both the Bees and Bravehearts would only use one batter.  Andrew Cain (University of New Haven) got off to a slow start but began to pick it up, finishing with eight home runs in the three total minutes.  For Worcester, Ben Rice would need just over two minutes to hit nine home runs and get the win for the Bravehearts.

New Britain’s starting pitcher, Tim Blaisdell (University of Hartford) pitched four innings giving up only one run, walking two batters and striking out six. Both Tyshaun Diaz (Southern CT State University) and Ben Talbot (Holy Cross) pitched three innings giving up only one run and one hit each.

The Bravehearts started former FCBL pitcher of the year Angelo Baez (St. Thomas Aquinas) who pitched six innings, giving up four hits and no runs, along with no walks and four strikeouts.  Jack Steele (UMass Amherst) and Hunter Reynolds (Franklin Pierce) also saw some action on the mound tonight for Worcester.  No pitcher received a win due to the game entering a home run derby.

The Bees return home for their first game of the season against the Brockton Rox on Sunday.  The Bees drop to 2-4 on the season, while the Rox currently sit at 1-4.  First pitch set for 1:35 p.m. Click Here For Tickets.

About the New Britain Bees

The New Britain Bees are members of the Futures Collegiate Baseball League and play their home games at New Britain Stadium. For information on tickets packages, group outings and sponsorships call 860-826-BEES (2337) or visit

About the Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL)

The FCBL is made up of seven teams from various parts of New England, each of which plays 28 home games and 28 away games. Each franchise is made up of elite collegiate athletes competing in a minor league style format.  Each franchise provides high quality, affordable entertainment, in a casual, family-friendly atmosphere. At least 50% of the players on each team must be from New England or attend college in New England. For further information, visit



Search Archive »

Browse by Year »